Farmers Insurance Open. Jon Rahm Eagles The Last To Win.

White Dragon GolfFarmers Insurance Open

Jon Rahm, from Spain,  Eagles the last hole to win the Farmers Insurance Open, at Torrey Pines, in California, his first PGA Tour victory

Farmers Insurance Open - Final Round : News Photo

Jon and Trophy

Jon holed a 60ft putt on the last hole, for Eagle on the par five 18th, to win the Farmers Insurance Open, with  -7 under par final round 65, and a total of -13 under par;

“I really can’t explain what went through my mind. I saw the replay of my reaction and I just don’t even remember doing what I did.”

“I never thought it was going to be for eagle from 60 feet, especially at Torrey Pines, but the fact that it went in is just incredible.”

 “The emotion just overwhelmed me. But man, that was a satisfying feeling.”

“Once I got to 17 and I hit that fairway, I didn’t tell anybody but my mindset was we’re one shot behind, we’re one shot behind.”

“I didn’t know, but I’m like I’m one shot behind, I need to make birdie.”

Jon  became only the fourth international player to win this tournament, Jason Day, Australia two years ago, Gary Player, South Africa in 1963, and Jose Maria Olazabal, Spain, in 2002.

Charles Howell 111, -4 under 68 today, and C.T. Pan, -2 under 70, finished tied in second place at -10 under par.

Defending champion and overnight co-leader Brandt Snedeker struggled to get going in the final round, carding +1 over 73, to be T9 at -8 under par, the putts would not drop;

“I didn’t play very well. To be honest with you, I didn’t hit it very good.”

“I did a great job of hanging in there all day and trying to give myself chances.”

“But for whatever reason the putts just didn’t want to go. I think I had four lip outs yesterday and at least three today. That’s just the way it goes.”

“I battled hard, but you’re going to find if you want to be great at this game or really, really good at this game, you’ll find ways to get through adversity and I didn’t do a good job of that today.”

“I have a week off, I’ll hit the drawing board, fix what went wrong today. Get ready for Pebble, another place I love a lot.

“I’m disappointed. This is a tournament I know how to win, done it before, so kind of upset with myself that I kind of let the opportunity pass by.”

Leave a Reply

