Qatar Masters. Wang Wins In Three-Way Play-Off

White Dragon Golf

Jeunghun Wang, from South Korea, wins the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters, after a three-way play-off against Joakim Lagergren and Jaco Van Zyl at Doha Golf Club.

Commercial Bank Qatar Masters

Jeughun Wang / getty

All three players finished the tournament with -16 under par totals, Jeunghun, who started with a three shot lead, carded -1 under par 71. Jaco scored -4 under 68 while Joakim signed for -6 under par 66.

Jeunghun birdied the first play-off hole, the par five 18th, to win the Qatar Masters title, and now wants to win The Masters;

“I was really nervous on the back nine. I missed a lot of greens but my chipping was really good today so I saved everything and finally I won.”

“I just wanted to try to make birdie at the last. I didn’t think about anything. I just wanted to try to make birdie.”

“When I was young, I really wanted to play the Masters.”

“I always imagined that I would play there. Maybe now I have a chance to play the Masters. So I’m so happy about it and I hope I’m going to get in the Masters. That’s my dream, dream tournament.”

“This feels really fantastic for me. It’s really, really great. I’m so happy.”

“I just don’t want to get any pressure this year. I just want to learn from the other players. I just want to keep winning, I hope.”

“I’ve really got a lot of confidence right now, I just want to play another tournament.”

South African Jaco looked the favourite to win when he got on the green in two on the play-off hole but a second three-putt of the day cost him a chance of his first Tour victory;

“It’s a good start to the season, and a little bit more fireworks, so hopefully it continues.”

“An unfortunate three-putt on six kind of put a damper on things a little bit. I made a nice one on 13, just unfortunately I hit a couple of good putts that just didn’t go in.”

“The back nine was playing really tough. The wind came up and it was really challenging.”

Joakim, from Sweden wants to use this result as an incentive to try and win next week’s Omega Dubai Desert Classic;

“We’ll try to get the trophy there this time.”

“I can’t complain about the second place but there is obviously a lot of disappointment right now.”

“I played really well today. I would have taken six under before the day, definitely. I played well but lost in a play-off.”

Leave a Reply

