Omega Dubai Desert Classic. Sergio Surges To The Top.

White Dragon Golf

Sergio Garcia surges to the top of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic leaderboard, as round one got suspended due to bad light at  Emirates Golf Club in Dubai.

 Omega Dubai Desert Classic.

Sergio / getty

Sergio, from Spain, had completed his opening Omega Dubai Desert Classic first round before play was suspended, carding -7 under par 65, to lead the tournament by one shot;

“It was a nice way to start, a good, solid round.”

“It was getting a little bit tasty there at the end, the last five, six holes. So it was nice to be able to get it in on a good score.”

“Tomorrow is supposed to be a tough day so we’ll see.”

“I think there were a lot of good positives out there. I played quite nicely, hit some really nice shots and made some really nice putts here and there. So overall, I was very happy with it. I felt like I was quite committed for pretty much every shot I hit.”

“The passion, it’s always there and it’s easy to keep up. Doing what we love and being as blessed as we are, being able to do it fairly well, it’s a great thing. So obviously the passion is easy to maintain.”

Felipe Aguilar, Chile, and George Coetzee, South Africa share second place at -6 under after their first rounds of 66.

Felipe was feeling good;

“I feel good. Every time you beat the course, it’s nice.”

Tied in fourth spot at -5 under are, Ian PoulterNino Bertasio, Nacho Elvira and David Lipsky all having rounds of 67.

Poults has not played this event for a while;

“I’m happy with that round. It’s been nine years since I’ve been here.”

Tiger Woods had another bad day at the office, shooting +5 over par 77, no signs yet that he will be contesting any title soon. He did not record a birdie today, citing  putting problems;

Well, I didn’t hit the ball very well, I left probably about 16 putts short.”

“I just couldn’t get the speed of these things, and consequently, it added up to a pretty high number.”

“I just could not hit the putts hard enough. I left every putt short.”

“Hopefully, this wind blows tomorrow, and it’s going to be tough and hopefully it is tough and I can play a really solid round and give myself more looks.”

Leave a Reply

