Waste Management Open. Brendan Steele and Byeong Hun An Lead

White Dragon GolfPhoenix Open

Brendan Steele and Byeong Hun An sit on top of the Waste Management Open leaderboard after round two at TPC Scottsdale.

Steele charges to the top

Brendan / getty

Brendan shot -4 under par 67 and Byeong -5 under 66 to share the  Waste Management Open lead at -10 under par.

Byeong had a good finish to his round;

“I look forward to playing those holes, 16, 17, 18, great finishing holes.”

“I love people making noise. I really don’t mind, as long as they don’t make sudden noise.”

Brendan has had good results here before, and feels good;

“I played well the last few weeks.”

“Obviously, the win a couple months ago, and then I’ve got good results on this course before. Everything feels pretty good.”

Matt Kuchar -2 under 69 today, defending champion Hideki Matsuyama, -3 under 68, Martin Laird, -5 under 66 and Sung Kang, -6 under 65, all share third place at -9 under par.

Local boy Matt feels the pressure of playing at home;

“It’s one thing to play at home and feel pretty good about your game.”

“It’s another thing to come out on the PGA TOUR and compete in a tournament. I come with little expectations.”

Hideki made bogey on the last;

“I thought I could go for the pin and came up a little short”

 “Little disappointing, but I played well all day.

Martin was bogey free, good putting a major factor;

“It was a clean card in terms of bogeys, but my golf game wasn’t very clean.”

“I struggled a little bit with my irons all day, but my putting was probably the best I’ve putted in a long time.”

Crowd favorite Phil Mickelson tried to pull off some impossible shots, they did not work, -1 under today proof of that, he is back at -4 under for the tournament;

“I didn’t really have much, I was trying to get something that would cut it. It was sitting in the rough.”

“The only play was to pitch out, but that’s not really, you know, what I like to do.”

“It sucks, finishing with two bogeys.”.

Leave a Reply

