Omega Dubai Desert Classic. Sergio Leads Suspended Third round.

White Dragon Golf

Sergio Garcia leads  the suspended third round of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic at Emirates Golf Club. All the top contenders completed their third rounds.

 Omega Dubai Desert Classic

Sergio / getty

Sergio, from Spain, completed a third round of -4 under par 68 to comfortably  lead the Omega Dubai Desert Classic by three shots at -18 under, making a lot of good putts;

“At the end it was very, very dark, I’ll tell you that, when we were walking on seventeen, I thought, well, it will probably be a little dark but not too bad.”

“But then it gets dark very, very quickly here. I couldn’t really see much on the last three shots.”

“I pretty much couldn’t see the ball land and the last putt was a little bit of a feel and a little bit of the read that George gave me and I’m very fortunate to be able to make it.”

“It wasn’t easy, a little shaky here and there at the beginning but the back nine was great. A lot of good shots, a lot of good putts.”

“I have a chance of winning the Omega Dubai Desert Classic which is a great event. I’m going to give it my all tomorrow.”

In second place is Henrik Stenson, Sweden, with a -13 under par total, a -5 under 67 today has put him in contention;

“It’s great to be in the last match tomorrow, I’m three behind Sergio so that’s where I want to be to try and apply some pressure on the front nine.”

“Anytime you can be within a couple of shots heading into the back nine, you can make it happen. I’m very pleased with the day’s work.”

Tied in third place are Ian Poulter, England, bogey free -5 under 67 today, and Prom Meesawat, Thailand with a third round of -4 under 68.

Poults, bogey free contained nine one putts in a row;

“I made a couple of great par saves during the round and gave myself a lot of good chances. I needed to shoot a decent round today because obviously Sergio and the guys in front were a few shots clear.”

“I’ve done my job today, so I’m very pleased.”

“My putting’s really good. I had a stretch of single putts from the back end of round two to the first couple of holes today. I was nine one putts in a row so to do that, you have to be comfortable with your line.”

“I’m quietly confident. I wouldn’t say I feel like I’m on my A Game but I’m doing my job and that’s all I can do right now. Slowly but surely try to get in contention and see what happens tomorrow.”

Prom was also happy with his putting;

“I went especially well from the tee, I feel very comfortable on my putting. It’s very good finish the last two holes birdie-birdie so I’m really happy with that.”

I feel comfortable right now so I’ll just try to enjoy tomorrow.”

“It’s always nice to come back here again. I’ll just try my best tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

