Omega Dubai Desert Classic. Sergio Garcia Wins

 

White Dragon Golf

Sergio Garcia wins the Omega Dubai Desert Classic at the Emirates Golf Club.

Omega Dubai Desert Classic

Sergio / getty

Sergio carded a final round -3 under par 69 to win the Omega Dubai Desert Classic with a -19 under total, a three shot victory,

Sergio became the sixth  winner from Spain, following the great Seve Ballesteros, José María Olazábal, Miguel Ángel Jiménez, Alvaro Quiros and Rafa Cabrera Bello;

“It’s a  great start to the year so we’re going to try to keep going the same way.”

“I’m very happy to play the way I played,  the way I handled some of the key moments and to beat Henrik, we all now how great a player he is.”

“The eighth was very, very big because it was the worst drive I hit all week, unfortunately, but it was a massive save and then I birdied nine which was great.”

“The 16th was important but I think 15 was more important. He was coming after two birdies and I hit a really, really good shot.”

“To be able to hit it to a couple of feet and get four clear was massive.”

“Even on the 18th with a four-shot lead I knew that I needed to hit a good third shot because you can mess it up a little bit there if you’re not careful.”

Henrik Stenson, Sweden, finished in second place, he too had a last round -3 under 69, for a tournament total of -16 under par;

“I was three shots back at the start of the day and Sergio made an early birdie so I was trailing all day, I was expecting that.”

“I needed to come up with some really solid play and even though I didn’t quite play my best, I still managed to sneak a couple of birdies in there in the middle of the back nine and move closer.”

“You’ve got to push when you’re behind and we got the wind slightly wrong there on 15. I over-hit it a little bit at the same time. That’s obviously where it all kind of finished.”

“At the same time, Sergio hit a lovely shot to about two and a half feet and it was pretty much game, set and match on the 15th green.”

“I’m just working away on my game, trying to move all the positions forward and the time when we want to be peaking is obviously early April. So that’s what we’re working towards and it’s good, steady progress.”

Lasse Jensen from Denmark, -7 under par 65 today and Tyrrell Hatton, England, -5 under 67 tied for third at -14 under par..

Leave a Reply

