Waste Management Phoenix Open. Hideki Retains Title.

White Dragon GolfPhoenix Open

Hideki Matsuyama retains his Waste Management Phoenix Open title, in the same manner as last year, a four hole play-off, at TPC Scottsdale. This year it was against Webb Simpson.

Waste Management Phoenix Open - Final Round : News Photo

Repeat Champion Hideki 

Hideki and Webb were tied at the top of the Waste Management Phoenix Open after four rounds with -17 under par totals.

Hideki shot a last round -5 under 66, but Webb caught him at the top with a -7 under par 64.

Hideki was thrilled to become the first player to defend his title at TPC Scottsdale, with a birdie at the fourth play-off hole the 17th, with good putting;

“I don’t know if I played that well, but I won.”

“It’s been a good run. I’m going to ride it as long as I can.”

“I really didn’t think I could do it, and it was a struggle all the way around.”

 “But I’m just thrilled to win.”

“That putt at 18 [in regulation], I don’t know how it stayed out.”

 “But during the playoff, I did hit some good putts. Just the line wasn’t there, and so, you know, up and down.”

“But I didn’t lose confidence. I just kept grinding and had patience.”

Webb was gracious in defeat, and said his putter is the key for him, the anchoring rule hurt bad ;

“My hat’s off to him, he’s a great player.”

“I knew he’d be a tough competitor in the playoff,  he’s a great champion.”

“Putting has always been my thing, if I putt well I seem to play well. I’m thankful that I’ve found a method that has been working.”

 “I feel like if any change, just mentally with my putting, is just tried to simplify it. Don’t take too much time and just be thankful. I’m thankful that I made some putts and I had a chance to win the golf tournament.”

Louis Oosthuizen was third, at -16 under par, a final round -6 under par 65 giving that position on his own.

Leader at the start of play Ben An, fell away carding five bogey’s in his last round, and his chance was gone, finishing with a last round +2 over par 73, for sixth place alone.

Leave a Reply

