AT&T Pebble Beach. Jordan Speith In Control.

White Dragon GolfAT&T Pebble Beach

Jordan Spieth is in control as he tops the AT&T Pebble Beach leaderboard after 36 holes in the suspended second round.

Spieth heats up on Friday

Jordan / getty

Jordan jumped to share the top of the AT&T Pebble Beach leaderboard with a second round -7 under par 65 at Spyglass Hill for a  tournament total of  -17 under par, and likes his chances playing Pebble Beach;

“I’ve played Spyglass better to the field than I’ve played the other courses.”

“I don’t know why. I do love this track a lot. Maybe it’s the fact that I feel like the greens roll more true than anywhere else,  and I should convince myself Pebble’s that way too.”

“I’ve played this course well in the past, always have. Obviously not this well, but yeah, I feel like I got a little extra today.”

“When it’s forecast for this much rain, they’re going to put the pins on the high points of the green, which is normally the back of the greens.”

 “The greens are ridiculously soft, so we’re spinning the ball a lot, but you can’t throw it behind it. So it’s very difficult.”

“That’s the biggest challenge for me over the last few years is courses where the greens are really soft and the pins are in the back.”

“Just taking two clubs extra and swing a half-swing, that’s been a very difficult thing for me to do,  which is a bit surprising that I’m this far up, because you’ve had to do that on every hole out here.”

“Pebble’s a gettable golf course when the wind’s not blowing.”

“I’m at 10 under now. If I can try and just make two a side at Pebble each time, and make up for the bogeys with maybe another birdie or something like that,  it may be good enough.”

Derek Fathauer shares the lead at -10 under par, shooting -8 under through 17 holes at Pebble Beach.

World number one Jason Day is in third position at -9 under par, he is currently -7 under through 12 hole of his round on Spyglass Hill to be at -10 under for the tournament.

It’s impossible to say what is happening when only 33 out of 154 players were done with the second round.

Leave a Reply

