Maybank Championship. Bernd Wiesberger Has Birdie Blitz.

White Dragon Golf

Bernd Wiesberger has a birdie blitz, which took him to the top of the Maybank Championship leaderboard at Saujana Golf and Country Club in Kuala Lumpur.

Maybank Championship

Bernd Wiesberger / getty

Bernd fired nine birdies in a row,to card a second round -9 under par 63 and lead the Maybank Championship after 36 holes with a total of -12 under par.

The sad thing about this unheard of feat is that it will not take it’s place in the European Tour history book, because they were playing preferred lies.

It did not seem to bother Bernd too much;

“I really tried to cut down on the shots, it was really warm out there this afternoon.”

“I felt a bit beside myself to be honest, I just kept it going, I felt like I was on a good run and I felt comfortable pretty much the whole day after my bogey on four.”

“I hit really good shots and I just felt calm out there. It felt kind of natural, I hit pretty good shots and really only holed two long ones which were the last birdie of the nine on 15 and about a 20-footer on 11.”

“Apart from that I just hit them pretty close and felt like I had a good idea of what the ball was going to do on the green today again which was nice.”

Danny Willett is in second place, one shot back at -11 under par for the tournament, a second round -5 under 67 keeping him in touch, holing a few nice putts;

“I played really well yesterday and it was a little bit scrappy today but there was a storm brewing a few hours ago and the wind was flicking around so it was tough to get the club right, so I scored nicely this afternoon.”

“I holed a couple of nice putts when I needed to. I missed a couple of good chances too but if someone told me at the start of the day, five under, I would have bitten their hand off.”

“I’ve not been necessarily perfect but if you’re trying to hit fade, they’ve got that look about them and if you’re trying to hit draw it’s the same thing.”

“I’ve been working hard so it’s nice to see it on the course.”

Mike Lorenzo-Vera, -7 under par 65 today, and David Lipsky,  share second place, both with -9 under for the competition.

 

Leave a Reply

