Ladies Australian Open. Katherine Kirk First Round Leader.

White Dragon Golf

Katherine Kirk, Australia, is the first round leader at the Ladies Australian Open at Royal Adelaide Golf Cub, in Australia.

ISPS Ladies Australian Open

Katherine Kirk / getty

Katherine shot a bogey free opening round -8 under par 65 to lead the ISPS Ladies Australian Open

Tied in second place are Chella Choi, carding one bogey, from South Korea, Jane Park bogey free and Marissa Steen, bogey free, both ladies from the U.S.A, all three players at -6 under par following their first round scores of 67.

Marissa said she was late coming into golf, and had to take a medical break;

“I played a bunch of other sports growing up, so focusing on golf I was a little late to it.”

 “I played at the University of Memphis in Tennessee for four years and graduated from there and then played Symetra Tour for three seasons.”

I just woke up one day, and my side hurt.  It took about two weeks, finally to where it was like I couldn’t sleep really at night, so I was like, I need to go get this checked out, and sure enough.’

“I was a rookie; I was excited to be out here, coming off the best season I had ever played on Symetra Tour.

”  I didn’t want to, and I guess I had never been injured before, I didn’t really know how to handle it.  Now, I think I have a little better grasp of what to do if that happens again in the future.”

 

Leave a Reply

