Genesis Open. Dustin Wins & Becomes World#1.

White Dragon GolfGenesis Open

Dustin Johnson wins the Genesis Open, & becomes World #1 at the same time, at Riviera Country Club in California.

dustin-johnson-10

Dustin cruised to his win and World #1 tag shooting an even par last round of 71 at the Genesis Open. A -17 under par total giving him a five shot winning margin;

“Feels good. I finished second here a couple of times, lost in a playoff. Came close some other times.”

“It finally feels nice to win on a golf course I really enjoy playing.”

“It sounds good, today was a long day. I played really great all day.”

“I drove it really well with my new M1 driver. I couldn’t have drove it any better.”

“That was a big key for me today.”

“I didn’t finish the last 10 holes the way I’d like to, but I had a pretty good lead. I was on cruise control.”

“It gives me a lot of confidence. It’s going to push me to work even harder and try to get even better.”

 “Sometimes, 36-hole days are good, I had 14 minutes from when I signed my card until I teed off. I didn’t have time to do anything.”

“I got up at 4:30 this morning. Right now, the only thing I’m looking forward to is getting in bed.”

Thomas Pieters, -8 under 63 today, and Scott Brown, -4 under 67, finished tied for second place, both at -12 under par.

Tied in fourth place at -11 under par were Justin Rose, Wesley Brian, Kevin Na and Charley Hoffman.

Wesley said of Dustin; 

“Honestly, I’m surprised it took so long for him to get to No. 1 in the world.”

“He’s got all the talent that you could ever want in a golfer.”

Leave a Reply

