The Honda Classic. Wesley Bryan & Cody Gribble Share Lead.

White Dragon GolfThe Honda Classic

Wesley Bryan & Cody Gribble share the first round lead at The Honda Classic  on the PGA National course in Florida.

The Honda Classic

Wesley and Cody / getty

Cody and Wesley both shot a -6 under par 64 in the first round of the Honda Classic to share the lead, both on the PGA Tour, making it from the Web.com Tour.

This is a track that Rookie Wesley loves;

“A place that I’m comfortable at, and a golf course I know, they are few and far between out here.”

 “It’s my first run at all these tournaments out here. I love this place, love this golf course.”

“I’m just kind of picking up where I left off.”

 “I was able to get the ball in the fairway with some of the tougher driving holes out there, and set up a couple good birdie opportunities.”

 “I had a lot I was building on each week, and I was able to put it together in just one round at Riviera that slung me into contention.”

“We’re off to a good start here, so hopefully we’ll have another crack at it.”

Cody, who, having won so early,  has played in the SBS Tournament of Champions at Kapalua;

“Honestly, I think you’ve got to limit your expectations.”

“It’s something that I went into the fall season hoping I’d get into the event (at Sanderson Farms) and hoping just to make the cut. And I end up winning.”

“So I think I’ve really got to try to keep that lower,  I need to be worried about my line, and my next hole is going to be 10 tomorrow, making sure I have the right line for the first shot, stuff like that.”

“I love narrow fairways, it doesn’t scare me at all. Tight fairways, gator pits, bring it on.”

One shot back, and tied in third, at -5 under after rounds of 65 are Martin Kaymer and Anirban Lahiri.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

