Joburg Open. Paul Waring Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Paul Waring from England, leads the Joburg Open as fading light halts play in the second round at   Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club, in South Africa.

Joburg Open

Paul Waring / getty

Paul had a one shot lead when second round play was halted, having completed 12 holes on the West Course for -5 under par, giving him a tournament total of -12 under par.

Chasing him down are Darren Fitchhardt, who has completed his second round at -6 under 66 on the West Course and Dean Burmeister, -6 under through 15 holes, also on the West, both of these South Africans are  at -11 under for the competition.

Darren was happy with his position in the tournament;

“I got off to a great start. I knew it was going to play long and I needed to get off to a good start and that I did.” 

“I got to six under pretty quickly, after eight I was six under so I was very happy about that start.” 

“Unfortunately I made a bogey on the tenth and then birdied the 18th, so I ended off well, but I am very happy with 66.”

Defending champion Hayden Porteous, from South Africa, carded -4 under 67 on the East, and now has two bogey free rounds for his -9 under total, and is T5;

“To have two bogey-free rounds in a row is an awesome feeling and it just leads to more confidence.”

“Hopefully I can do the same on the weekend. I wouldn’t say West is that tough – as long as you are hitting the fairways, you have a chance to make birdie coming into the greens.”

“But to do it around the East is not easy. You do have a few tough holes out there and to get away from that course unscathed is a pretty good feeling.”

Leave a Reply

