The Honda Classic. Two Tied At The Top.

White Dragon GolfThe Honda Classic

The Honda Classic, there are two players tied at the top of the leaderboard after 36 holes at PGA National in Florida. Ryan Palmer joins first round leader Wesley Bryan.

The Honda Classic

Ryan Palmer / getty

Ryan shot -5 under 65, while Wesley signed for a -3 under 67 in the second round of The Honda Classic, to share top spot at -9 under par.

Ryan returned to golf after a four-month break,  to be at home with his wife, Jennifer, who is recovering from breast cancer;

“I watched a few tournaments, there were times when she said I should have gone and played.”

“I was going to play Vegas and I was going to play Malaysia, but after that, there was no way I could play golf.”

“Enjoyed time at home, took care of the kids. But it was a lot of hard times, for sure.”

Ryan suffered most on the course, with his putter;

“The greens, all hell broke loose. the nerves, anxiety right hand. I spent four weeks going through that.”

“Felt like it was the best putting I’ve done in a year and a half, and it’s carried over to this week.”

Wesley  made a bogey on the 13th hole,an errant tee shot,  with his only option was using a putter to get out of the trees. He holed an 8-foot bogey putt to keep in range, and then he holed a 10-foot birdie putt on the 18th to tie for the lead;

“Don’t like making bogeys, but any time you find yourself using a putter out of the trees for your second shot, it’s not good.”

 “Glad to settle for bogey there and glad to get one on 18, tied for the lead going into the weekend.”

One shot back of the leaders is Rickie Fowler, who carded a second straight -4 under 66, for a -8 under total;

“I feel like it’s time for me to start finishing off some more events when I am in this position.”

 “I wouldn’t look just back at this specific event, but there’s been a few where I’ve had a chance, and I feel very good out front or around the guys in the lead.”

“I’m looking forward to this weekend.”

 

Leave a Reply

