Tshwane Open. Three Tied at the top on Day1.

White Dragon Golf

There are three players tied at the top of the Tshwane Open leaderboard at the end of day 1 in South Africa at  the Pretoria Country ClubAlexander Björk, Sweden, Grégory Havret France and local player Haydn Porteous.

Tshwane Open

Executive Mayor Solly Msimanga takes the first tee shot of the 2017 Tshwane Open / getty

All three leaders shot rounds of -6 under par 65, in the Tshwane Open, but it is very tight at the top, and they only have a one shot advantage over the field. Alexander and Hayden were bogey free, while Grégory expensively threw in two bogey’s.

Local favorite Hayden, is happy to playing at home;

“It’s something that I have been really searching for, for the last few months, I was in a dark place with my golf.”

“To come back in my home country and in my home province and start to find my golf swing and really start to get some good scores under the belt is something I have really needed for a long time.”

“And it feels good.”

Grégory stated the obvious, he was hot, including his putting;

“I’m obviously very pleased, I was pretty hot on the front nine.”

“The back nine was a bit tougher and I didn’t play that great but I had a couple of good wedges on 14 and 17. They saved me a bit for that back nine.”

“With eight birdies overall, my game was quite hot today. Wedging was good and putting was good.”

Alexander said good putting helped him get to the top;

“It is always nice to be on top, then you can improve from there.”

“I like to have a good start and then you don’t have too much pressure in the second round and then you just go out and have a good round again.”

“I played well today. I was solid off the tee, hitting straight and also hitting some good irons and some putts.”

Five players are sharing second place at -5 under par; Ben Eccles, Australia, Mikko Korhonen, Finland,  Duncan Stewart, Scotland, Toby Tree England and South African Justin Walters.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

