WGC Mexico Championship. Rory Leads.

White Dragon GolfWGC-Mexico Championship

Rory McIlroy leads the WGC Mexico Championship going into the weekend.

McIlroy shows no rust

Rory / getty

Rory shot a second round -6 under par 65, with an Eagle  at the par four 14th, to post -9 under at the top pf the WGC Mexico Championship leaderboard;

“Coming in here this week, I definitely would have taken a top 10.”

 “It would have been a great start to come back, but I’m in a great position and I can think about trying to win this thing.”

“Overall if you had told me at the start of the week that I would be leading by two going into the weekend, I definitely would have taken it.”

Sharing second place are Phil Mickelson-3 under par 68 today, Ross Fisher, also -3 under 68 and Justin Thomas, -5 under 66, all with -7 under par totals.

Phil had problems when caddie Bones fell ill out on the course, his brother Tim came to the rescue to carry the bag for the rest of the round;

“My brother’s a great player and he did a phenomenal job today”

Tim got the call while eating breakfast, other caddies apparently how him to go about it;

“I was having breakfast and Phil called, he said, ‘In case something happens, just be around.’”

“They just said, ‘Look, Bones has done a great job so far today. Don’t screw it up.’”

“I didn’t have a hat the first six or seven holes, I probably got a little burnt,”

World number 1 Dustin Johnson is T5, at -6 under par, a -6 under 65 today a big improvement on yesterday;

“I felt like today was a lot of the same as yesterday.”

 “I felt like I hit the ball really well, had a lot of good looks at birdie. It’s just really difficult to get the ball in the hole here.”

Leave a Reply

