Tshwane Open. Dean Burmester Gets Maiden Tour Win.

White Dragon Golf

Dean Burmester gets his maiden European Tour win at the Tshwane Open in South Africa.

Tshwane Open

Dean Burmester / getty

Dean, from South Africa,  carded a final round -6 under par 65 to win the Tshwane Open with  a total of -18 under par, a three shot win in his fist Tour win. He started the week without playing privileges on the European Tour after finishing 140th on last season’s Race to Dubai rankings, and has certainly turned things around;

Tshwane Open

Surprised Dean / getty

“I can’t believe it,” I’ve had an amazing summer and last week was a frustrating day for me on Sunday and it didn’t go my way but then my family and everyone who supported me said ‘we’re coming up next week so you better win in front of us’ and I’m glad to have done that.”

“I sharpened my teeth as a youngster on the Big Easy Tour here at home and I think I had five seconds in one year and then two years later I had four wins on the Sunshine Tour.”

“I just knew that if I could get unscathed through 13, 15 and 16 I should pretty much be home and dry.”

 “I made a great par on 13 next to the tree and then birdied 14 and kind of calmed down.”

“Bogeys at 16 and 17 weren’t great but I was just trying to keep myself calm.”

“It’s gone strength to strength and now I’m a European Tour winner and that sounds great.”

Jorge Campillo, from Spain, -3 under 68 today  and  Mikko Korhonen, Finland, -4 under 67, tied in second place at -15 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

