ISPS Handa New Zealand Open. Brad Kennedy Leads.

White Dragon GolfBMW NZ Open

Brad Kennedy, from Australia, leads the New Zealand Open after 36 holes.

New Zealand Open

Brad Kennedy / : photosport.nz

Brad shot a second round -9 under par 62 at the par 71 Millbrook course, to lead the New Zealand Open by one shot at -16 under par.

Former champion Brad carded a birdie at six out of his last seven holes, with good putting being the key;

“It was awesome, it is nice to play like that. I had a good rhythm going into the back -9, coming through 15 to 18, I had some nice full numbers.”

“The greens are just pure here so they are great to putt on. I birdied my last four holes.”

“It doesn’t matter where I am, I just have to stay aggressive. Anytime you try and be conservative, a course like this will come and get you.”

“It’s nice knowing that I have won the Open before, at a different course, to be able to win it a second time would be fantastic.”

“Having won it before allows me not to press too hard; guys who haven’t won it before and are in contention will be trying to win the first one.”

“It’s a great National Open to win and we will all be having a go.”

First round leader Ben Campbell, of New Zealand signed for second round -5 under par 67, at The Hills, for a -15 under par total, good putting keeping the momentum going;

“Five under was always good out there, so I can’t complain. I played pretty solid all day, so it was nice.”

“I holed two or three putts outside 10, 15 feet which kept the momentum going. “

“I didn’t quite hit the ball as good as yesterday, but it’s always tough backing up a good round like that.”

Michael Hendry, also from New Zealand holds third place at -13 under par, a -6 under par 65 at Millbrook keeping him in touch of the lead.

Michael was in the four-ball with the leader, and enjoyed the experience, watching his playing partner rolling in putts;

“It is good having a playing partner rolling putts in as well; it allows both of us to start rolling.”

“We had at least 30 birdies between us in 36 holes, so it was a good four ball.”

“I think it will be a different story on the weekend. Hopefully the wind gets up, I like playing in the wind, it would make it a bit more difficult and pin positions will be tough.”

Leave a Reply

