Valspar Championship. Jim Herman Shoots 62 to Lead.

White Dragon GolfValspar Champ

Jim Herman shoots 62 to lead the Valspar Championship at Copperhead Course at Innisbrook Resort, as darkness caused play to be suspended for the day.

Herman shoots 62, leads Valspar

Jim Herman / getty

Jim carded -9 under par 62 on the par 71 Copperhead Course in the opening round of the Valspar Championship;

“That was a fun round, I don’t think there’s many feelings better than shooting in the lower 60s on the PGA TOUR.”

Russell Henley and Henrik Stenson share second place at -7 under par, with first rounds of 64.

Russell made  more than 110 feet of putts, requiring only 24 today, and leads the field in strokes gained putting;

“I feel like I’m seeing the break well here.”

 “I feel like the greens are running really true, and what I’m seeing, that’s what the ball is doing.”

“I got more and more confident as the day went on.”

Henrik spoke about how important it was to play well here, with The Masters just four weeks away, and with his putter working well;

“I think it’s important, I know how important it was to get that win in Germany at the BMW International Open last year two weeks prior to The Open, and it gives you that confidence, so I’d love to, more than anything, of course, play well.”

“When the putter feels good and short game is in good shape, a lot of times I see it more as guaranteeing having a second shot into around the green or hit the green, even if it’s a longer club.”

“That’s kind of what I’ve done around here the previous two times, and it’s worked out fine.”

Leave a Reply

