ISPS Handa New Zealand Open. Kiwi Campbell Cruzin.

White Dragon GolfBMW NZ Open

Kiwi Ben Campbell is cruizin at the top of the ISPS New Zealand Open leaderboard after 54 holes.

New Zealand Open

Ben Campbell / getty

Ben carded a third round -5 under par 66 to lead the ISPS Handa New Zealand Open at -20 under par, and will take a one shot lead into the final round tomorrow. An Eagle at the 17th saw him pull away, and he hopes to hole more putts tomorrow;

“I didn’t have my A-game today but managed to get a good score on the board. I have talked to my coach about doing ugly well.”

“My caddy told me to be patient. I holed some good par putts to keep the momentum going and went for it on 17 with that eagle.”

“There is a lot of golf to be played and it could be bad weather. I have to stay patient. “

“Something can happen on a course like this. But I will hit the ball, go and find it and hopefully hole some putts.”

Aussie Brad Kennedy is hot in pursuit, a third round -3 under par 68 to claim second place on his own at -19 under;

“It was one of those days when I felt I was in control for most of the day.”

“It is the first time we have seen pins here on a Saturday and there were a couple of tough ones today. It was a positive day and I can start chasing now.”

“There are some guys behind who can shoot low so I know I need to play well, stay aggressive and do my best to chase down Ben who holed everything today.”

Sharing third place at -17 under are another Kiwi Michael Hendry -4 under 67 today and Aussie Dimitrios Papadatos, -5 under 66.

Dimitrios has high hopes for success;

“I have already won one tournament this year, at the Oates Vic Open, so there is no reason why I can’t make it two.”

Michael stayed patient, and capitalised on his chances;

 “It was pretty ordinary, to be honest. I just kept telling myself to stay patient and hopefully I’d capitalise on some opportunities coming in and I did.”

Low round of the day went to Ryan Fox, New Zealand, -8 under par 63, to be T9 at -13 under par. Must be the influence of Steve Williams on the bag.

Ryan started to hole some good putts today;

“To be honest it was probably a little scrappy to start with and I holed a 45 to 50 footer across the green on five and that kick-started things.”

“I saw a lot of 10 and 12 footers go in today that haven’t gone in the previous five or six tournaments and it’s nice to be back in the tournament.”

“Brad  played some amazing golf the first two days and he looks like he started pretty solidly again today, so unless he does something silly and shoots six or seven-under I think I’d have another chance tomorrow with another 63 or 64.”

Leave a Reply

