Hero Indian Open. SSP Chawrasia Successfully Defends Title.

White Dragon Golf

SSP Chawrasia successfully defends his Hero Indian Open title, winning his home title  back to back. A huge seven shot winning margin at this weather interrupted tournament  at DLF Golf and Country Club.

Hero Indian Open

SSP Chawraisa / getty

IND SSP had a final round -1 under 71 for a Hero Indian Open total of -10 under par at his national Open where he was runner-up four times before finally triumphing last season;

“I’m winning back-to-back so I’m really very happy.”

“I was very happy to have everyone supporting me and having my wife here too to see me winning the Indian Open two times back to back. I’m just very, very happy.”

“I learned many things this week and hopefully I can play better in Europe. That’s my target next, I have to win in Europe.”

“This is probably my best win of my career as it was a really tough course. This week, I made less mistakes and others made more mistakes.”

MAS Gavin Green, from Malaysia was in second place, those distant seven shot back at -3 under par, he was +3 over par in his last round.

Tied in third place, at -2 under for the tournament were ITA Matteo Manassero, Italy, +1 over 73 today, and SCO Scott Jamieson, from Scotland, with even par 72 in his final round.

Matteo had putting problems;

“I’m happy with the way I played. It was really tough out there.”

“The greens are tricky. I putted good until yesterday and this morning as well. This afternoon I just couldn’t get the rhythm going.”

Scott struggled for birdies, with timid putting the cause;

The front nine was good, managed to make a few birdies.”

“They dried up a bit on the back nine, I was probably a little bit timid on some of my birdie tries that didn’t quite make the hole, but it was a good week.”

Prayad Marksaeng, Thailand, produced the first albatross of the European Tour season, holing his second shot to the par five 18th , with a four iron. Unfortunately he finished the tournament at +10 over.

Leave a Reply

