Arnold Palmer Invitational. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfArnold Palmer Invt'l

There are two players tied at the top of the  Arnold Palmer Invitational, after the first round, Emiliano Grillo , Argentina, and Matt Fitzpatrick from England.

Emiliano Grillo, the 2016 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year, ranks 64th in the FedExCup, with one top-10 in nine starts. (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Emiliano Grillo / getty

Emiliano and Matt both shot first rounds of -5 under 67 in the   Arnold Palmer Invitational at in Bay Hill  in Florida.

Emiliano found it hard to keep warm in the early morning low temperatures, carding a couple of early bogey’s, but also made some good putts;

“The first four holes were really difficult keeping warm.”

. “After that, it was a bit warmer, but if I had my hands out of my pockets for a minute or two I would be freezing.”

“But I was able to keep it in the fairway mostly all day and I was able to make a few good putts on 9 and 17, and that kept me going.”

Matt went round bogey free, in the warmer afternoon rounds.

Three players are tied in third place at -4 under par, after opening rounds of 68, Paul Casey, one bogey, Lucas Glover two bogey’s and Charley Hoffman, one bogey.

This was the first year the tournament has not been graced by it’s host Arnold Palmer, and it was stressful for grand-son Sam Saunders, especially when he reached the 16th tee, where an empty golf cart was parked, which had always been occupied by Arnold;

“I started thinking about all the years that I’ve played in the tournament, and I just started thinking about him driving around in the cart and watching me.”

 “And just to see it sitting there empty ; yeah, that’s hard.”

“I think we all feel that. I had my emotional moment, looked at it, and then got my head where it needed to be to play the next hole.”

 

Leave a Reply

