Bank of Hope Founders Cup. Five Tied,

White Dragon Golf

Five ladies are tied at the top of Bank of Hope Founders Cup, following the opening rounds at Wildfire Golf Club in Phoenix, ArizonaStacy Lewis, Sandra Changkija, Katie Burnett, In Gee Chun, and Ariya Jutanugarn.

Bank of Hope Founders Cup

Stacy Lewis / getty

All the ladies carded opening rounds of -8 under par 64 in the Bank of Hope Founders Cup tournament, for a one shot lead.

Stacy said she got off to a good start, sinking some birdie putts;

“Got off to a great start, that was the beginning.”

“Just making some putts early; hitting a lot of good shots, and great putt on 8; 9 was awesome. The 9-iron was perfect in the air. Nice to see it go in.”

“You kind of start thinking a little bit about what you’re shooting at that point but just tried to keep hitting good shots.”

“I did that, for the most part, most of the day. If you’d tell me at the beginning of the day I would shoot eight under, I would take it anytime.”

Sandra just likes desert courses;

“I like desert golf courses, it fits my eye.”

” We won nationals my junior year in college.”

Ariya reported she should have scored better, missing some putts;

“I  feel pretty good. I mean, I feel good because I try to work on my commitment today and it’s come out pretty good.”

 “I miss few putt, too. I just make a pretty long putt like twice today.”

There are another five ladies all tied in 6th place at -7 under par, in this tightly congested Bank of Hope Founders Cup leaderboard.

 

 

Leave a Reply

