Arnold Palmer Invitational. Charley and Kevin Have 54 Hole Lead.

White Dragon GolfArnold Palmer Invt'l

Charley Hoffman and Kevin Kisner share the 54 hole lead at the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill in Florida.

Charley Hoffman finished birdie-birdie-birdie at the Arnold Palmer Invitational. He's tied for the lead. (Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR)

Charley / getty

Charley shot a third round -1 under par 71, which included birdies at the last three holes, while Kevin carded -4 under 68, to both share top spot on the  Arnold Palmer Invitational leaderboard at -11 under, and will take a three shot advantage into the final round tomorrow.

Charley says he is in a special spot;

“Week-in and week-out you’re trying to win, but to be in position at Arnie’s event is a special spot.”

 “It’s right up there with competing in a major championship, there’s no question.”

“To keep his legacy going and win his event would be something special.”

“Coming down the stretch I’m probably not going to think about that too much. I’m just trying to win a golf tournament, to be completely honest.”

“But if I happen to, it would definitely be a special one to put on the mantle.”

Kevin has a poor record in play-off’s;

“I’ve lost plenty of playoffs out here, so I try to make as many birdies as I can so I don’t have to do that anymore.”

 “These guys are not afraid and they’re going to make a lot of birdies and there’s no protecting leads.”

“I saw I got the lead early and then just tried to make as many birdies as I could on the back nine.”

Three players are tied in third position at -8 under par, Tyrrell Hatton, England, -5 under par 67 today, Marc Leishman, Australia, -1 under 71, and Matt Fitzpatrick, from England, who stood still today at even par.

Rory McIlroy made good progress today, a bogey free -7 under 65, which takes him to -6 under for the tournament, saying he played better and made some putts;

Arnold Palmer Invitational

Rory / skysports

“Today it presented us with an opportunity to go low, the golf course played a little bit shorter, so you could take advantage of the par-fives.”

“I just played better. I gave myself a lot of looks and holed some putts, which was nice to see. It’s sort of a score that I was waiting on.”

“I felt like it was in there, it was just a matter of trying to put it all together and today I did.”

“At least I’ve given myself a decent chance tomorrow, if I get off to a fast start, I’ll be right in there. I can take a lot from today.”

“I put it in the right position, I drove it better, gave myself a lot of looks, was smart when I needed to be and if I can continue to do that, then I do have a good chance.”

 

2 thoughts on “Arnold Palmer Invitational. Charley and Kevin Have 54 Hole Lead.

  1. Pete, what an entertaining day at Bay Hill! Grillo’s antics were fun to watch but I think Kisner has it most under control from a mental and physical standpoint. I expect him to take home the trophy today. We’ll see; enjoy the action!

    Brian

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

