Arnold Palmer Invitational. Marc Leishman Wins.

 

White Dragon GolfArnold Palmer Invt'l

Marc Leishman, from Australia, wins the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill in Florida.

A win for the whole family

Family Leishman & Trophy /getty

Marc holed a 50 ft Eagle putt on the 16th hole on his way to carding  final Arnold Palmer Invitational round of -3 under 69, to post the winning total of -11 under par’

Marc convinced himself that son Harvey would make the Eagle putt;

“Some weird things go through your head, but I was thinking,  because we have a putting green upstairs, that Harvey could make this putt. You have to make it.”

“It’s such a special year to honour Mr. Palmer how they have. It’s unbelievable.”

“Obviously, it’s sad not to have him up there on 18, but to play how I did and to win any tournament’s huge, but especially this one.”

“The putter was pivotal all week. I’ve been putting well all year and it’s nice to be able to hole putts the last few days.”

“That was key to do that. I gave myself chances for putts and, yeah, it was an awesome day and I couldn’t have drawn it up any better.”

Kevin Kisner, +1 over 73 today and Charley Hoffman, also +1 over 73, tied in second place at -10 under par

Rory McIlroy -3 under 69 today, shared fourth spot with Tyrrell Hatton, -1 under 71, both at -9 under par.

Rory wanted the win, but was happy with his effort the last two days;

“I haven’t had the win that I’ve wanted, but it’s been good consistent play and that hopefully bodes well for the year ahead.”

“I struggled the first two days here. I found it a little bit on the weekend. I’m just happy that I’m out here playing again and I feel good.”

Leave a Reply

