WGC – Dell Technologies Match Play. Day 1 Disasters.

White Dragon GolfWGC-Match Play

Day 1 of the Dell Technologies Match Play competition brought a few disasters at Austin Country Club, in Texas. Rory McIlroy being one of them, losing 2-1 to Soren Kjeldsen.

WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play

Rory / getty

Rory told reporters;

“Overall, I can’t be too disappointed. But at the same time, when standing on the 14th tee just having won three holes in a row, I thought I had him going into a tough stretch of the golf course.”

“But he put up three birdies in a row, and you can’t do anything about that.”

Jordan Spieth was another first day casualty, losing 4-2 to Hideto Tanihara, while Jimmy Walker went down to Martin Kaymer, 4-2.

All o f these guys need to step up to the plate tomorrow, if they want to progress in this tournament.

World number one Dustin Johnson won 5-3 over Webb Simpson, and Phil Mickelson dispatched Si Woo Kim by the same score.

Sergio Garcia had a ding-dong of a battle against Shane Lowry, it finished all square.

Sergio put his woes on the day down to poor putting;

“It’s never easy. Obviously I needed the putt to win. I had the chance of tying it up. I hit a good putt. It was really, really slow.”

“We didn’t play great. We definitely didn’t make anything, neither of us. I think we made probably two or three putts between the two of us.”

“At least I think we both fought hard.”

Saddest story of the day surrounded Jason Day, his mother is very ill, and will go into surgery on Friday. Naturally Jason could not concentrate on his golf, and was three down in six holes when he withdrew. He later made a tearful statement, but I think no one would have thought ill of him had he just left the course and took the first flight home, to support Mum;

“It’s been a very, very hard time for me to even be thinking about playing golf, and I know my mom says not to let it get to me, but it really has.”

 

Leave a Reply

