ANA Inspiration. 1st round Play Suspended. Karine Icher Leads

 

White Dragon Golf

Karine Icher. from Franceleads the ladies first Major of the year, the ANA Inspiration, as the first round was suspended due to high winds at Mission Hills Country Club in California.

ANA Inspiration - Round One : News Photo

Karine 

Karine shot a completed first round of -5 under par 67 at the ANA Inspiration tournament to lead by one shot, as play was suspended due to the high winds.

Tied in second place are, amateur player from South Korea, Eun Jeong Seong, with her finished first round of -4 under 68, Michelle Wie, finished  -4 under 68, Sung Hyun Park and So Yeon Ryu, both from South Korea with the same first rounds of 68.

Eun Jeong Aced the par three 5th hole, with a six iron;

“I couldn’t see the hole, and then I just said, `Oh my God!”

“I don’t think about being one of the leaders. I’m just happy that I’m playing.”

Michelle played along side 14-year-old amateur  Lucy LI, from USA who was  -1 under 71 today, and Michelle mentioned the comparison to when she started on the pro tour;

“I was walking behind her on No. 1, and I’m like, `She’s really cute,.”

“No one really called me that when I was 13. `Damn, she tall.’ That’s all I got.”

“I had a lot of fun out there, I played steady.”

Lucy,  thought she should have made a couple of putts, to improve her score;

“I thought I could have made a couple more putts.”

Defending ANA Inspiration Champion, Lydia Ko,  and world No. 1, was -2 under par through five holes in viscous winds before play was suspended.

Leave a Reply

