Shell Houston Open. Missing The Cut List Amazing.

White Dragon GolfShell Houston Open

The list of players missing the cut at the Shell Houston Open is amazing, while leader Sung Kang, from South Korea, opens up a huge lead at the top of the leaderboard.

Getting cut, a week before The Masters were, Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson, Patrick Reed, Lee Westwood, Adam Scott, Boo Weekly and defending Champion here Jim Herman.

Kang opens huge lead in Houston

Sung Kang / getty

Sung Kang fired a bogey free -9 under par 63 to top the Shell Houston Open leaderboard at -16 under par, and a six shot advantage over the field going into the weekend.

Tied in second place at -10 under par are Hudson Swafford, USA, -5 under 67 today, and Russell Henley, Scotland, also -5 under 67.

Rickie Fowler suddenly went into reverse on the back nine today, dropping four shots on his last seven holes, to card a second round -1 under 71, to drop into fourth place at -9 under par;

“I’m a little mad. It was a nice front nine, made a couple swings that cost me.”

“One swing with a driver on 12, and then a wedge that kind of just took off high left out of the first cut and rode the wind, ended up making double there.”

“Other than that, give those back and I’m in with 68 and in a lot different position.”

“Hopefully enjoy some good weather tomorrow and pray for a miracle on Sunday.”

 “Like I said, I love where my game is at. I know I can go out and play well and shoot low on this course. Hopefully the weather treats us well.”

Jordan Spieth summed his disastrous day and the improvement in his putting;

“Just an off day, ball-striking wise.”

“I made strides in my putting this week, which is something I can take a lot of confidence into next week.”

“I was a bit rough around the edges in my putting last week in Austin, and really felt like I put better strokes on it here.”

“And putting well next week obviously as we know is important considering I didn’t strike it very well last year and was certainly in position to win.”

Leave a Reply

