Shell Houston Open. Sung Sails Smoothly On.

White Dragon Golf Shell Houston Open

Sung Kang, from South Korea, sails smoothly on at the top of the Shell Houston Open at the Golf Club of Houston in Texas.

Kang hangs on in Houston

Sung Kang / getty

Sung carded a third round -1 under par 71, to stay on top of the Shell Houston Open leaderboard at -17 under par;

“It was playing very hard today, the wind was blowing much harder and the greens got a lot firmer because we played in the afternoon.”

“The greens got a lot faster.”

“I am so tired right now, I have no power to think about anything.”

The world No 9 is looking for a second victory of 2017

Rickie / getty

Rickie Fowler looked like he would at least catch the leader today, until a four putt on the 18th, for a six, derailed his momentum, and pushed him back again. He signed for a third round of -5 under par 67, but it could, and should have been so much better. Rickie is in second place at -14 under par, but will now start the final round tomorrow three shots back;

“Drove it well, hit a lot of fairways and greens, made some good putts.”

 “Really not looking at the last two holes. It was a great day of golf.”

“I’m trying to look at the bright side and be as positive as possible.”

 “I’m happy with the run that we made, but it wasn’t the way I wanted to finish.”

Russell Henley holds third position, just one shot behind Rickie, at -13 under par. Shooting a third round -3 under par 69, making a birdie on the last.

Russell like this course, and can putt well here;

“I do love the greens, and I feel comfortable with a lot of these shots off the tee.”

“There’s a lot of room. I feel when I miss it, I know it. I don’t make a lot of bogeys and roll a couple extra putts in.”

“I love how I finished, making the two birdies was good for me, and hopefully I can continue that tomorrow.”

“Got to stay patient. Probably going to be tough conditions again tomorrow and got to do one shot at a time.”

 

Leave a Reply

