ANA Inspiration. So Yeon Beats Lexi in Play-Off, After Lexi Get A Late Four Shot Penalty !!!

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu beats Lexi Thompson in a play-off for the ANA Inspiration title, the first ladies Major of the year, at Mission Hills in California.

ANA Inspiration

So Yeon Ryu

So Yeon carded a final round -4 under par 68 to get into a playoff for the ANA Inspiration title with Lexi Thompson -5 under 67 today.

So Yeon made birdie on the first play-off hole the par five 18th;

” I just, you know, cannot believe this situation. During play, I didn’t even check the leaderboard, but I thought Lexi played really, really well.”

 “I thought, I’m well behind, so all I wanted to do was just play my game and enjoy my game.”

“I was paired with my best friend, Inbee Park today, so I just really wanted to have a really good, strong finish.”

If like me you are wondering how Lexi, who lead after 54 holes, shot a lower final round than the winner, came second, here is the answer, Lexi was penalized four strokes because on Sunday afternoon, a TV viewer submitted feedback via that they believed Lexi had incurred a penalty during Saturday’s third round.

The viewer stated that she witnessed Lexi, during the third round on Saturday, fail to properly replace her ball prior to putting out on the green at the par three, 17th hole. After being reviewed by LPGA Rules officials, Lexi was deemed to have in fact breached Rule 20-7c. Sue Witters, Vice President of Rules and Competition, notified Lexi between the 12th green and 13th tee during her final round, that she would be assessed a two-stroke penalty for the infraction and an additional two-stroke penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard. Officialdom gone mad.

You have to wonder who is running the LPGA competitions, the officials, or some viewer, reviewing play, via a slow motion replay. Why have all those officials out on the course when you just rely on TV viewers, even the next day.

Whatever happens out on the course, if it is not picked up by officials, then the offense never happened. Don’t you think Lexi’s opponent on the day would have said something  if she thought for one moment that a rule had been breached, and that she could gain an advantage over Lexi.

I think the decision is unfair, how can you reasonably go back  in time 24 hours and then incur a four shot penalty.

Do you really think So Yeon was happy to win in such a way?

Email me your thoughts; 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.