Shell Houston Open. Russell Henley Wins.

White Dragon GolfShell Houston Open

Russell Henley, from Scotland, wins the last ever Shell Houston Open at Golf Club of Houston in the Lobe Star State of Texas.

Henley earns third TOUR title

Russell Henley / getty

Russell fired a last round -7 under par 65 to win the Shell Houston Open with a -20 under par total, a three shot winning margin.

Russell  overcame a four-shot deficit, for his third PGA Tour victory;

“I made 10 birdies today?”

“Oh, wow. Wow. Yeah, then I guess it’s definitely the best.”

“I wasn’t expecting to go back to Augusta.”

“I was planning on not going, but I was going to try my best to win. So, the fact I get to go back is pretty cool and I’m excited. It hasn’t really sunk in yet.”

“You don’t know what’s going to happen. You never know what’s going to happen in this game.”

Second place went to long time tournament leader Sung Kang, from South Korea, who carded a sad final round of even par 72, for a -17 under par total. His first PGA Tour victory evading him;

“This week is going to be very memorable for me.”

“I played really solid the first few rounds and then it shifted for two rounds.”

“I’ll keep grinding out and working out and hopefully, I can get a chance next time.”

Rickie Fowler, -2 under 70 today, tied for third place  with Luke List, -4 under 68, both having -16 under par totals.

Rickie blamed his performance on an alignment problem;

 “Just an alignment problem that just caused me to make a couple bad swings, cost me a few shots.”

 “Nice that I got it turned around and started to make some good swings and made some birdies and fought back, got a good finish out of it.”

“Obviously, yeah, I would have liked to have gotten off to a better start.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

