The Masters. Charlie Charges Ahead.

White Dragon Golf

Charlie Hoffman charges ahead in the first round of The Masters at Augusta National Golf Club, in tough windy conditions.

The Master

Charlie Hoffman / Getty

Charlie carded an amazing -7 under par 65 in the first round of The Masters, to lead the field by four shots.

Charlie put his success down to good putting;

“The putts started going in the hole, as simple as that sounds.”

“I hit it pretty solid in the wind, got away with a few shots and then I was able to make those 15-20 footers in the wind which was nice.”

“I just kept hitting my spots and out here with the wind you end up having 20-footers and that’s sort of what you’re looking for. I was able to pour those in coming down the stretch which was nice and then I hit a few real close at the end which is always a good bonus.”

“Obviously going to sleep on the lead at a Major Championship here at Augusta National is not going to be the easiest thing. I look forward to it and I look forward to the challenge the next three days.”

“If you don’t believe in yourself, who’s going to believe in you?”

William McGirt is in second place at -3 under par, with his opening effort of 69;

“Honestly, I was just trying to figure out how to get it to the house without hurting myself.”

“I was not upset to see it blowing. I love it when it plays tough. I’m not the kind of person that’s going to get in a shootout with anybody.”

Lee Westwood holds third place, with a first round -2  under par 70, he also had a good day with the putter;

“I just made a couple of putts on the back nine and hit it a little bit closer.”

“It was just a matter of being patient and not being too frustrated with being three over on the front nine.”

“I didn’t get aggressive on the tenth, I didn’t get too aggressive at 11, just playing into the right spots, did the same at 12 just waiting for something to happen.”

World Number two Rory McIlroy was in the group at even par on the day,  World Number  one Dustin Johnson had to withdraw, due to in injury incurred during the week, when he fell down some stairs;

“It sucks, it’s tough. I want to play. I’m playing probably the best golf of my career, and I look forward to this tournament every year.”

“And to have a freak accident happen yesterday afternoon after I got back from the course, it’s tough.”

Defending champion Danny Willett is at +1 over after his opening round 73.

 

Leave a Reply

