The Masters. Two Tied at the Top after 54 Holes.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of The Masters leaderboard after 54 holes at Augusta National Golf Club. Justin Rose, from England, and Sergio Garcia, Spain, have a one shot lead going into the final round tomorrow.

The Masters The Masters

Justin and Sergio / getty

Justin fired the low round of the day, -5 under par 67, to share The Masters lead with Sergio, -2 under 70 today, both at -6 under par for the Major tournament.

Justin explained his low round to reporters, and his desire to win here;

“It all happened for me the last eight holes, I think the patience I showed on the front nine was probably the key to moving well on the back nine.”

“I had my head down. I knew I was creeping up on the leaders and then I had that quick birdie-birdie finish to put me pretty much right up there tied for the lead.”

“It all seemed to happen really fast, setting up a really fun day tomorrow.”

“I’m a Major champion but I’m looking for more and I’m certainly looking for my first Masters and my first Green Jacket.”

“This is a place I dearly love and would dearly love to be part of the history here.”

Sergio said he had a good day today;

“It was a good day.”

“I was able to fight hard with what I had, stayed very patient all day and it was nice to shoot a two under that was a good solid score.”

“I need to be extra patient, I need to not lose my head, I need to stay calm and make sure no matter what happens, I need to keep going in the same direction because it feels good to me and I’m sure it looks good too.”

“So no matter what happens I need to stay within myself.”

“We still have one day to go, it’s not going to be easy, we’re going to have to play hard again and hopefully we will have a good solid chance coming into the last four or five holes.”

Rickie Fowler, USA, holds third place at -5 under par, a -1 under 71 today, not quite what he was looking for.

Jordan Spieth, -4 under 68 today, Ryan Moore -3 under 69  and Charley Hoffman with an even par 72 third round are tied in fourth place at -4 under par.

4 thoughts on “The Masters. Two Tied at the Top after 54 Holes.

  1. Pete, I’m thinking Fowler and Spieth battle it out today with Spieth coming out on top. The rest of the boys just don’t putt that well to sustain, especially Sergio. Enjoy the final round action.

    Thanks!

    Brian

    Like

Leave a Reply

