The Masters. Sergio Beats Justin in a Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Sergio Garcia claimed his first Major win, The Masters, in  a play-off against Justin Rose, at Augusta National Gold Club.

Finally first: Garcia wins the Masters

Sergio / getty

Sergio and Justin had both finished The Masters on -9 under par, after last rounds of -3 under 69. Sergio won the first play-off hole, the 18th, with a birdie, to claim his maiden Major title.

Sergio spoke about his new found attitude, and Seve’s 60th Birthday;

“I accepted what Augusta gives and takes, and I think because of that, I’m able to stand here today.”

“Demonstration of my character and my mentality, how positive I stayed even when things weren’t going that well on 10 and 11.”

“I have a beautiful life, Major or no major, I’ve said it many, many times. I have an amazing life.”

“To do it on Seve’s 60th birthday and to join him and Olazábal, my two idols in golf my whole life, it’s something amazing.”

“José sent me a text on Wednesday night telling me how much he believed in me.  And what I needed to do.  And just pretty much believe in myself.” 

Sergio gets it done, a playoff for the ages & Kuch's ace

Defending Champion Danny Willett hands over the green jacket / getty

Justin enjoyed the tussle, and was happy for Sergio to get his maiden Major win;

“A wonderful battle, if I had anybody to lose to, it would be Sergio. He’s had his fair share of heartbreaks.”

“It was encouraging to see the crowd get behind him. I think they realized he paid his dues.”

An Ex Champion, Charl Schwartzel was in third place, at -6 under par, a last round -4 under par 68 giving him that place on his own.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Masters. Sergio Beats Justin in a Play-Off.

Leave a Reply

