LPGA Lotte Championship. Two Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf

Two ladies are tied at the top of  the LPGA Lotte Championship leaderboard after the first round in HawaiiPaula Creamer, U.S.A. and  Mi Hyang Lee, South Korea, lead the tournament.

Lotte Championship

Mi Hyang Lee & Paula Creamer / getty

Mi Hyang and Paula both shot opening rounds of -6 under par 66 in the LPGA Lotte Championship at the  Ko Olina Golf Club, in Hawaii.

Mi Hyang was not too impressed with her performance, but it was better than the two missed cuts she had previously;

“My shots were the worst. It’s good for the one week off after the ANA Inspiration.”

 “I had good rest, and my body is much better than before. I met with my coach and tried to fix my problem.”

“I have a lot more confidence than before. I played really good today, and I got a lot more confidence from today.”

Paula has changed her putting grip, from the unreliable left hand low, back to conventional;

“I played solid. I putted really well. I switched back to conventional-style putting. I’ve been left-hand-low for the last three years.”

“I hit the ball really well at the ANA Inspiration and Kia Classic, I just couldn’t make any putts.”

“We talked about how many times I won conventional and how many times have I won left-hand-low and the difference was astronomical.”

In second place are a pack of five ladies all on -5 under par, Su-Yeon Jang and Eun- Hee Ji, from South Korea. Alena Sharpe, Canada with  Beth Allen and Lizette Salas from U.S.A. all with opening rounds of 67.

Su Yeon Jang has good memories of this golf course;

“It’s good to come back to a place I know, although I only played 18 holes this year in practice, as I was playing the golf course memories are coming back to me and I have a lot of good memories of the golf course.”

World number one Lydia Ko continues with her miserable form of late, ever since she, or her family, changed Caddy, Coach, and Club brand. Carding +1 over par 73, to be T86.

 

Leave a Reply

