Lalla Meryem Cup. Gemma Dryburgh Leads

White Dragon Golf

Gemma Dryburgh from Scotland leads the  Lalla Meryem Cup after the first round in Morocco.

 Lalla Meryem Cup

Gemma Dryburgh / getty

Gemma shot an opening -4 under par 68 in the  Lalla Meryem Cup in Morocco to lead the tournament by one shot. A good putting day kept her ahead of the competition;

“It’s a very good feeling. I’ll be up early tomorrow and get the ball rolling.”

“I just have to do the same thing: play my game, stick to the game plan and one shot at a time. It’s obviously very early in the tournament so I’ll keep patient.”

“I played really well and my putting was especially good. I only had 20 putts and I didn’t hit that many greens.”

“I had a couple of up and downs. The greens are immaculate, they are rolling really well and if you hit it on the right line, they will go in.”

Four ladies are tied in second place,  Suzann Pettersen, Nicole Garcia, Klára Spilková and Lydia Hall, all at -3 under par following their rounds of 69.

Suzann was happy with her performance today;

“Today was a little bit of everything and I’m very glad I managed to put three-under together.”

“I really wasted some shots out there from poor positions in the fairway, so it was a little bit up and down, but I’m happy with the way I scrambled and I managed to put a three-under together.”

“The greens are rolling very pure. They are very true, so whatever you see is what they do.”

“It’s great to be here in Morocco. It’s my first time, I want to say. I was in Marrakech 20 years ago but I can’t remember much. It’s great to be here to support the tournament. Another day tomorrow and we’ll see where that takes us.”

Lydia payed alongside Klara, and said they spurred each other on;

“At the start of the day I would have taken three-under, but I’m a little disappointed to have bogeyed the last hole. Klara and I both had 69 and kept spurring each other on.”

 

Leave a Reply

