Lalla Meryem Cup. Bogey Free Lydia Hall Leads.

White Dragon Golf

A bogey free second round lifts Lydia Hall into the lead at the Lalla Meryem Cup in Morocco.

Lalla Meryem Cup

Lydia Hall / getty

Lydia fired a bogey free -4 under par 68 to lead the Lalla Meryem Cup by two shots at the half way point at the Golf Dar Es Salam, with a -7 under par total.

Lydia, from Wales, is looking forward to playing alongside Suzann Pettersen;

“Looking at the scores, a couple of players were getting away with it on the front nine, but I knew that it’s a tough golf course and the wind would get up, so I needed to stay patient and not get ahead of myself.”

“I made a lot of pars and kept the mistakes off the card.”

“I’m looking forward to playing with Suzann. We played together in the third round of the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters in December and I can’t wait to play tomorrow.”

Annabel Dimmock, England, holds second place at -5 under par, with a second round -3 under 69;

 “It’s a bit of a shock because at the start of the week I was not hitting it well at all.”

“After all the practice rounds and speaking to my coach, it’s a pleasant surprise, but I’ll take it.”

“Nothing has really clicked and I’m just getting it round, really and I hit it better than expected. Even in my next tournament, if I am hitting it better, I’ll focus on getting it round rather than swing thoughts.”

Suzann Pettersen, Sweden, is in third place, a second round -1 under 71 giving her third place alone at -4 under par. She found the round tough going, heart attack tough;

“This course is not easy to play from the rough.”

“You’ve really got to hit fairways as the greens are so small and the rough is very unpredictable. I don’t think I’ve had one great lie where you feel that you can control the ball and the spin.”

“I’ll keep hitting fairways and try to hit more greens than I did today.”

“If I was a little bit older I probably would have had a heart attack, because it was up and down, up and down.”

“There are birdies out there, but you don’t have to be much off. A slight mistake and the bogeys are very easy to make.”

“It was not my best from tee to green so I have a job to do, but I’ll look forward to the weekend. If you hit fairways and greens I think you can shoot low around this place.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

