Lalla Meryem Cup. Klára Spilková the first Czech player to win on Ladies European Tour.

White Dragon Golf

Klára Spilková the first Czech player to win on Ladies European Tour, claiming the Lalla Meryem Cup in Morocco.

Lalla Meryem Cup

A Very Happy Klára Spilková / getty

Klára, posted a final bogey free round of -6 under par 66, to win her Maiden Ladies  European Tour title, with a -8 under par total, at the Lalla Meryem Cup in Morocco;

“I can’t believe it. It’s just great. I don’t really have any emotions now.”

“I just took almost a two month break to work on myself more than anything else.”

“I didn’t play much golf. I was trying to get my mind in the right place and it worked.”

“I feel much better than last year. The hardest challenge is always your ego. I just won for myself, because I felt no ego.”

Suzann Pettersen was in second place at -7 under par, after carding a last round -1 under 71. A disappointed Suzann, from Sweden, started the day with a two shot lead, she missed a putt on the last hole to get into a play-off;

“Obviously I’m very disappointed not to win.”

“I didn’t have my best game from tee to green and it’s cost me this tournament.”

“I had a putt on the last, which ended short. It was in my hands to at least get into a play-off.”

“I kept the hope alive with a birdie on 17 but when you shoot 66 on Sunday you should be there or thereabouts to win the tournament so credit to Spilkova.”

Annabel Dimmock, from England, was in third position with a -6 under par total, a final round -2 under 70 giving her that place on her own;

“I feel a bit disappointed but overall, I’m pleased with my week.”

“I was pretty pleasantly surprised, but I got better every day with my swing.”

“Even today, I didn’t hit it well off the tee, but I didn’t let it get me down.”

“It was amazing for me to play with Suzann and I learned a lot and next time I’m in this situation I will be less nervous.”

 

Leave a Reply

