Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open. Anna Nordqvist Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Anna Nordqvist leads the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open at Club de Golf Terramar in Spain.

 Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open

Anna Nordqvist / getty

Anna shot a first round -5 under par 66 to lead the  Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open by one shot from a chasing pack.

Anna mentioned the cool temperatures, but coming from Sweden she should have been used to it;

“I couldn’t feel my hands for the first five holes and I know I grew up in Sweden, but I’ve been in the heat for so long now that I don’t do very well with the cold weather.”

“It was just very cold this morning so the ball wasn’t flying as far and it didn’t seem like it was compressing as it has over the last couple of days.”

“It was playing a good two-club wind on the last hole and you’ve got to adjust to the chillier weather.”

The chasing pack consists of a group of fives ladies, all one shot back at -4 under par after their opening rounds of 67; Florentyna Parker and Sophie Walker, from England, Giulia Sergas, Italy, Jenny Haglund Sweden and Gemma Dryburgh from Scotland.

Florentyna was happy to recover from last weeks disastrous start;

“I had a disaster last week and after the first seven holes I was already too many over par.”

“I just wanted to get off to a steady start to give myself a chance, and I did exactly that today.”

“It wasn’t easy. This course, without wind, is very scoreable and you can go very low, but with the wind up, it is quite difficult with some long holes into wind. I played very steady.”

Sophie spoke about her two silly bogey’s, and her good putting;

“The wind picked up slightly towards the end, but I had six birdies and two silly bogeys. I putted really well and the greens are really pure.”

Leave a Reply

