Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open. Nuria Iturrios Leads

White Dragon Golf

Nuria Iturrios, from Spain, leads the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open after 36 holes.

 Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open.

Nuria Iturrios /getty

Nuria carded a second round -6 under par 65 to lead the  Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open, in her home country, sitting on top of the leaderboard at -8 under par. A performance that eclipsed the far more experienced players around her;

“I want to keep enjoying it and making a lot of birdies.”

“The course is a little bit short, so I can reach the greens on the par fives in two shots.’

“We have 36 more holes so I am just playing and enjoying it.”

Sharing second place at -7 under par are Karine Icher from France, firing -7  under 64 today, and Pamela Pretswell,  Scotland, who had -4 under 67.

Karine had better putting today;

“I had more putts dropping today. It’s fun to play here. It’s a nice, cute golf course with a lot of opportunities.”

Pamela also converted well with her putter;

“Today was really solid. I just had one bogey where I didn’t get up and down and I holed a few putts, so I had a good round. I had a few close putts and a few longer ones that rolled in nicely.”

First round leader Anna Nordqvist, -1 under 70 in her second round, and Azahara Munoz,-4 under 67, are tied in fourth spot at -6 under par.

Anna was the opposite, saying her putts would not go in;

“I’m quite disappointed with today because I didn’t hit it all that bad.”

“I hit 16 greens and shot one-under, but I made a mess of the eighth. I ended up just missing the fairway and the lie took it way left. I hit it over the green into the bushes, which was not a great place and made a mess out of nine too, with a short putt for birdie that I didn’t make.”

“Other than two or three holes, it was pretty solid, but the putts didn’t go in.”

Leave a Reply

