Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open. Mel Read Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Mel Read leads the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open after 54 holes at Club de Golf Terramar in Spain.

 Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open

Mel Read / getty

Mel, from England, fired a third round -9 under par 62 to lead the  Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open tournament by four shots at -14 under par;

“It was tough out there today: it was windy, but I’m very happy with a 62.”

“Me and my caddie Benji were very careful with our club selection today due to the wind and we did alright.”

“We got the clubs right and put them pin high. I’ve got some new clubs in the bag and they’ve made a huge difference with my distance control, so I’m really happy about it.”

“It’s obviously nice to have a four-shot lead but as you can see, there is a nine-under out there. I’ve got Carlota, Aza and Anna behind me.”

“I’ll try not to feel like I’m in the lead but feel like I’m chasing and try not to take my foot off the gas.”

Anna Nordqvist, Sweden -4 under 67 today, Carlota Ciganda Spain, -7 under 64, Azahara Muñoz, Spain -4 under 67 and Florentyna Parker England, -5 under 66, are all tied for second place at 10-under par for the competition.

Anna had a hole in one today, at the par three 13th.

Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open

Anna Nordqvist / getty

 “I wasn’t too excited after making a bogey on 12 but I hit such a good seven iron on thirteen, it was all over the pin and started working early.”

“I’ve had a lot of close calls the last couple of years, but none have gone in, so I was pretty excited to see it go in actually.”

“It was cool to see Mel shoot a low round today. I still haven’t figured out these greens yet and I’ve been a bit clueless but hopefully I can figure it out and catch her tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

