Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open. Florentyna Wins Three-Way Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Florentyna Parker, from England, wins the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open after a three-way play-off  at Club de Golf Terramar in Spain, against Carlota Cigander, Spain and Anna Nordqvist, Sweden.

 Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open

Florentyna Parker / getty

All three ladies carded final rounds of -5 under par 66 in the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open, for -15 under par totals, sending them into the play-off, which Florentyna won on the fourth play-off hole, with a birdie putt;

“I knew I had to win. I know I’m not going to get picked for The Solheim Cup, so I know I have to qualify automatically.”

“I think today I’ve proved that I can play against the best and best them, so I’m really happy.”

“I can’t remember how many times I played the 18th hole, but I think I had a few birdies today, so it was fantastic and I still can’t believe it.”

“You’re up against the best players in the world, they come over from the LPGA and it’s so good to beat them!”

“I was putting quite well towards the end and I knew that green off by heart, so I knew it was going to go in. Luckily, she missed!”

Anna had to console herself with a share of second place;

“I started with two bogeys this morning and didn’t hit it all that bad. I fought hard. “

“After that, I played really well. I missed a lot of putts but it was hard, they were either bouncy or it was hard to get the break. I made a birdie on 18 to get to 15-under and Carlota gave us a chance by missing the chance she had to birdie 18 in regulation.”

“I felt I played the play-off as I needed to and had good yardages. The second to last putt just bounced, so I was disappointed there and then I thought I had the last putt on 18 and I don’t know how it didn’t go in.”

“Florentyna hit it to three feet on the last hole and she took the chance when she had it. Congratulations to her.”

Home favorite Carlota missed her putt on the last hole in regulation to win;

“It’s just golf and I’m happy with the way I played, shooting four-under on the last few holes. “

“It was a good round and I knew I had to make birdie on 18 to win.”

“I hit the putt the way I wanted but just a little too hard. I have to keep learning and keep playing. It’s been a great week and I want to thank all the fans, because I really felt their support. Life is good!”

Leave a Reply

