Shenzhen International. Wiesberger Wins In A Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Bernd Wiesberger wins the Shenzhen International in a play-off at  Genzon Golf Club in China.

Shenzhen International

Bernd Wiesberger / getty

Bernd had a poor final round of -1 under par 71 in the Shenzhen International to get into a play-off at -16 under par, against Tommy Fleetwood, who carded a fabulous -9 under par 63. It was a great final round with four players in with a chance to win with four holes to go, but one by one they fell over, in the pouring rain;

“I’m feeling a bit relieved now I have to say.”

“I’ve had a stretch of really good events the last couple of months and it’s really nice to have a trophy again.”

“We have really good players out here, all up for it, playing well and throwing a lot at me.”

“At the end of the day I’m just glad I got myself into the spot where I could play for the title.”

“Tommy has had a great day today and I’m just grateful to make that one shot when I needed to.”

“I just wanted to get off to a good start and show them that I’m up for it and I did, scrapped around a little bit, had a couple of near misses with good looks at it early on. It could have gotten to me but I stayed calm, played on decently.”

Tommy said a few putts dropped today, and in the end he was disappointed;

“I’ve played well all week and I was really disappointed, it was stressing me out that I couldn’t really get anything in the hole.”

“Today, just a few putts went in and I kept it going all the way through and it was a good time to shoot a 63.”

“As a goal I wanted to be one under for every three holes, that was 66 and if I beat that I thought I’ll have a had a good day and a good week.”

Grégory Bourdy, -5 under 67 today and Ross Fisher -4 under 68 shared third place at -15 under par. Ross sadly three putted the 18th green to drop out of a  play-off place.

Leave a Reply

