Volunteers of America Texas Shootout. Mi Jung Hur Conquers Windy Conditions To Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Mi Jung Hur conquers the windy conditions in Dallas to lead the  Volunteers of America Texas Shootout.

 Volunteers of America Texas Shootout

Mi Jung Hur / getty

Mi Jung played the course backwards to post a bogey free -6 under par 65, and lead the   Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, by two shots.

MI Jung said good putting on her back nine made the difference;

“The winds are swirling every hole, so it gave me a little bit of a headache.”

“I hit the ball pretty good today.”

“I just didn’t make a putt on the front nine, but I started making putts on the back nine.”

In the huge pack of eight ladies sharing second place at -4 under par is Ariya Jutanugarn, who could become the new World Number One this week with a win here;

“I didn’t try to think about that, I just feel like it’s more important for me to have fun and be happy on the course.”

Michelle Wie is also in that chasing pack at -4 under;

“I just had fun out there.”

“It was fun to play low in conditions like this. I was happy with where I positioned myself today, and hopefully I can go out there tomorrow morning and make some more birdies.”

Australian Katherine Kirk is also in that pack, and scored  hole in one at the par 3 fourth hole’

“I hit it so well, so I bent down to pick up the tee, then someone in the group said, ‘get in the hole,’ and I’m like, ‘What?’ and it went in. I didn’t even see it, to be honest.”

Everyone was pleased to see the return to golf of Lexi Thompson, even the officials who so harshly ruled out her great showing  ANA Inspiration have now decided to ignore calls from people who watch slow motion replays time after time before making a phone call;

“It was just good to get out and be playing again. The three weeks off it was a little hard, but I’m just so happy to be here and get back into competition.”

“All I’m focusing on is the tournament that I’m at right now here in Texas, going to Japan next week, and forgetting about it all. It’s time to move on.”

A great politically correct statement, from Lexi who is currently at -2 under for this tournament, wouldn’t be good if she could win here.

Leave a Reply

