Volunteers of America Texas Shootout. Haru Nomura Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Haru Nomura, Japan, leads the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout after the second round in Texas.

 Volunteers of America Texas Shootout

Haru Nomura / getty

Haru shot -6 under par 65 to lead the  Volunteers of America Texas Shootout by one shot at -9 under par, with good putting being the key to her round today;

“My mind was very calm today. It was windy, but I like windy and tough conditions.”

“I putted well and shot pretty good today.”

Ariya Jutanugarn holds second place, at -8 under par, she carded -4 under par 67 today;

“Pretty good day today, I hit the ball pretty good on my front nine, made some putts today.”

Third place belongs to Suzann Pettersen, she shot a second round -6 under 65, for a -7 under par total.

Dori Carter fired the round of the day, an 8-under-par 63, to make her first cut of the season, good putting again helped;

“That’s just golf, I struck the ball well yesterday and I didn’t get up and down, today I did.”

“When I missed the green, I got up and down. And then I had some really cool long fringe putts.”

“Putts started to fall and that just became exciting.”

“So that was probably the difference between yesterday and today, I got up and down. I even holed out for an eagle today, things like that. I was always close and today was finally my day.”

Leave a Reply

