Volunteers of America Texas Shootout. Haru Hangs On in the Wind.

White Dragon Golf

Haru Nomura, Japan, hangs onto the lead at the  Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, citing that she likes it windy.

 Volunteers of America Texas Shootout

Haru Nomura / getty

Haru stayed on top of the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout leaderboard, carding a second round +1 over par 72 in very windy conditions;

“Windy is easy, I like windy and tough conditions, from fairway to green. I love it.”

Amateur Eun Jeong Seong, South Korea, -2 under 69 today, Inbee Park, also from South Korea, even par 71, and Cristie Kerr, U.S.A. -1 under 70, all share second place, two shots back at -6 under par.

Eun Jeong Seong feels good about her performance today, and so she should;

“I thought just even par is just so good, but I started birdie-birdie, which is why I played very easy today.”

 “Very tough playing No’s 15, 16, 17 because of the wind, but I made par and then birdie on my last two holes”

” I feel good.”

Cristie summed it all up thus;

“God I played really hard today.”

“It would have been nice to make a few more putts but standing on the first tee, anything under par you would have taken it.”

“It was a really difficult day.”

Inbee is not expecting any improvement in the conditions for tomorrow;

“I think the forecast is still pretty bad tomorrow, so I think it just really depends on the weather, whether I should go really aggressive to the pins or try to give myself a putt at it.”

 “With these windy conditions, I think it’s good to have options. Two or three-under is a good score with these conditions, but when the wind dies down I think you can go pretty low, so the strategy kind of changes.”

Stacy Lewis is at -5 under, shooting that number for a round of 66, earlier in the day when it was a bit calmer;

“I knew getting out earlier would be an advantage to post a number and just see what happens.”

Leave a Reply

