Volvo China Open. Play-Off Win for Alex Levy.

White Dragon Golf

Alex Levy wins the Volvo China Open in a play-off against Dylan Frittelli, at the Topwin Golf and Country Club, in China.

Volvo China Open

Alex & Trophy / getty

Alex Levy, from France became the first player to win the Volvo China Open twice as he defeated Dylan Frittelli, South Africa, with a birdie at the first extra hole, the par five 18th.

Alex had a final round -5 under par 67, while Dylan frittered away his three shot starting advantage carding a sad +2 over par 74, both finishing on -17 under par for the tournament.

Alex wants a home Ryder Cup appearance at Le Golf National in 2018;

“It’s a goal and a dream for me to play the Ryder Cup in France.”

“I will do a lot of work to play the Ryder Cup and I will do my best to be part of the team.”

“That’s an amazing feeling to be back in the winner’s circle.”

“This means a lot because it was the first tournament I won on the European Tour.”

Dylan started poorly, with a three putt on the first hole today, and some bad luck sealed his fate;

“It stings a little bit, I let it go there in the end but I’m still proud of the way I played this week.”

“It’s a great result, seventeen under par on this golf course is nothing to scoff at.”

“A couple of mistakes on the back nine, with two bad breaks.”

“I’m proud of Alex, he played well there to come back. Most people probably thought I had it in the bag with 18 holes to go but he stuck to it and played well there in the play-off.”

Pablo Larrazábal, Spain was in third place at -16 under, a last round of even par 72 a disappointing end to his tournament, missing some important putts, that would have given him victory;

“It’s tough to describe, when they open the door of the tournament so many times, and it was like a theme that I couldn’t get in.”

“Only one birdie until 18,  a putt that I missed for an eagle of nine feet, nothing was getting in, all the good putts were going short and all the opportunities I had for birdie I couldn’t make.”

 

Leave a Reply

