Wells Fargo Championship. Francesco Molinari Has 1st Round Lead.

White Dragon GolfWells Fargo Championship

Francesco Molinari, from Italy, has the 1st round lead at the Wells Fargo Championship at Eagle Point Golf Club.

Wells Fargo Championship

Francesco Molinari / getty

Francesco shot an opening round of -6 under par 66 to lead the Wells Fargo Championship, by one stroke, with a chip in birdie at the last hole,

“I played well and gave myself lots of chances.”

“I missed some makeable ones but then I holed some longer ones which is always nice. I’m really happy.”

“I enjoyed being out there and playing. I enjoyed even the challenging shots they have out there.”

Four players are then tied in second place at -5 under par following their first round scores of 67; Alex Noren, Sweden, J.B. Holmes, Grayson Murray and Brian Campbell, all from U.S.A.

Making his come back here is World number one Dustin Johnson, he fell down some stairs a month ago and has not played since. He carded -2 under par 70 to be T 15, and was happy with his play;

“Since I hadn’t played in so long, I’m happy with the way I played.”

“I didn’t score that great, didn’t really hole that many putts, but other than that, I played really well. I think I hit 16 greens and I hit the ball great.”

Leave a Reply

