The Players. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

Two players are tied at the top of the The Players leaderboard after round one at TPC Sawgrass, William McGirt and McKenzie Hughes, share that honor, while Sergio Garcia was in the limelight with an Ace at the dreaded 17th.

A new era for McGirt

William McGirt / getty

William and McKenzie shot first rounds of -5 under par 67 at The Players, to lead the competition by one shot.

Now that William is famous, he finds it harder to hide from the fans;

“I  can’t hide anymore, I’ve gone through the airport a few times and tried to dress down as much as I could and hide. It doesn’t work.”

“But it is nice to be noticed. I mean, obviously if you’re walking around and you’re able to go unnoticed, that means people either have never heard of you or don’t care.”

“So, I would like to think that people actually do care, and they have noticed.”

J.B. Holmes, Alex Noren, Chez Reavie and Jon Rahm are that one shot back at -4 under par, following their opening rounds of 68.

 

Sergio Garcia's electric ace on No. 17 is the Shot of the Day

Shot of the day from Sergio Garcia, an Ace at 17 / getty

Sergio and Rory McIlroy finished in the huge group at +1 over par, with rounds of 73.

Sergio was really pleased with his Ace;

“The feeling was great.”

“”I think I wasn’t quite in the tournament because of everything that’s been going on after the Masters win and media and people congratulating you left, right and center. I felt like I was a little bit up in the clouds, and when I woke up, I was four over after six.”

Rory is still suffering from a sore back;

“My back has got a little bit stiff again. I guess just from obviously building it up and playing through and then not doing anything for three weeks and then coming back last weekend and hitting balls for four or five hours a day.”

“So I think that’s why I’m a little bit rusty, as well. But I think this week it’s just about trying to manage that and get through the week and try to play with what I have.”

Leave a Reply

