Portugal Open. Wallace Heading For Wire To Wire Win.

White Dragon Golf

Matt Wallace, from England, is heading for a wire to wire win in the Portugal Open at Morgado Golf Resort.

Portugal Open

Matt Wallace/ getty

Matt scored a third round of even par 73, but is still on top of the Portugal Open leaderboard at -17 under par, and will take a three shot advantage into the final round tomorrow;

Matt said he  made some good putts today;

“It wasn’t very good today, I lost a bit of rhythm out there and just struggled really to get it round.”

“I’d have liked to have been a couple better and that would have given me more of a cushion going into tomorrow.” 

“It is what it is and I’m going to prepare as well as I can for tomorrow.”

“I’ve been playing great, I’ve been giving it my best, I’m really looking forward to the situation tomorrow.”

“It could have been much worse out there for me today; I battled really hard and made some good putts to save some pars.”

“Hopefully I can put as much effort in tomorrow as I did today and play a bit better and hopefully I’ll be here tomorrow with the trophy.”

Sebastian Heisele, from Germany, is still there, a third round -2 under 71 reducing the deficit to three shots at -14 under par for the tournament;

“I didn’t play as well as I did for the first two days, so I’ll need something low tomorrow.” 

“Matt is just going to keep doing his thing. I’ll try to get a few shots back tomorrow, early obviously to build some pressure, and take it from there.”

Sam Walker, England, is in third position at -13 under par, carding a third round -5 under par 68, to move into that spot on his own.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

